2006 ICAP-Nigeria Award Recipients

In recognition of their outstanding contributions to HIV prevention, care, and treatment programs, ICAP global director Dr. Wafaa El-Sadr (standing, second from left) joined ICAP Nigeria on Nov. 26, 2006, in presenting the 2006 ICAP-Nigeria awards to:

Franca Ogar (kneeling, left) and Mohammed Adamu, Persons Living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA), for living positively and advocating increased access to care and treatment services for PLWHAs;

Dr. Yari Everton, Peter Ochelebe (kneeling, center), and Sister Majaret Aje, facility-based providers, for their passion and dedication to service and their exemplary roles in inspiring other facility-based staff;

Grassroot HIV/AIDS Counselors (GHAC) Organization and the GAWON Foundation for partnering with ICAP to provide strong linkages between the community and ICAP-supported sites. (Above, standing in center, Elder Takai Agang Shamang, GAWON Foundation president, receives the award);

Drs. Joseph Ana and Abdurahman Abubakar for their outstanding and unique contributions as policymakers to improving health services, particularly HIV/AIDS services.